nick the prick

It’s hard being a Dolphins fan these days. After jumping out of the gates with an 0-4 record, the vital signs are not looking too hot for the 2007-2008 Miami Dolphins. We did almost beat Washington in Week 1 in what was one of the ugliest games of this young season, but we couldn’t manage to pull that off.

Let’s talk about our draft woes. Greg Cote from MiamiHerald.com wrote a sobering article last month that was appropriately titled, “Poor drafts have hurt Dolphins.” Cote starts off with a bang, going straight for the jugular with this alarming stat: Trent Green is the 11th different starting passer since Dan Marino (he retired in 2000).

topper-green.jpg

Cote blames GM Randy Mueller, who is the man placed in charge of picking up a team that hasn’t been to the playoffs in 5 years by the bootstraps. Although he has only been in charge of club personnel for 3 years now, let’s take a look at the Fins draft record over the years (courtesy of Cote’s article):

draft.jpg

I would like to say that I am a huge Ronnie Brown fan. I am convinced that behind a good offensive line, he is a 1500 yard, 15 TD type back. He has overachieved like crazy his first 2 years on the team, and after a terrible start to this season has put in 2 solid games. I would also be bold enough to say that if he continues producing at the rate he is now, he will be the first first-rounder to make a Pro Bowl since Tim Bowens in 1994.

ronnie.jpg

I think we may have been hard on Ted Ginn so far. But there are a few reasons for that: 1- He is a Buckeye and I hate Ohio State, as does everyone else in the USA other than Ohio State fans themselves. And they should hate themselves too for robbing Miami of the National Championship in 2003.

2 – He has 1 reception for 15 yards… that’s all. If he can average 15 yards/catch for his career, then we are onto something here. But he only has 1 reception. 4 games, 1 catch.

3- Ginn was taken ahead of Brady Quinn, Amobi Okoye, Marshawn Lynch and Dwayne Bowe. Okoye (Texans), Lynch (Bills) and Bowe (Chiefs) have already made immediate impacts on their teams, and Quinn has the all the tools to be a quality QB in the NFL.

4 – Of all the problems we have on our team, we are using our #9 overall pick on special teams? Really? What about having the worst rush defense or one of the most porous offensive lines in the NFL? Is Ginn another Devin Hester? Maybe, but we definitely haven’t seen anything even remotely close to that yet.

In August, Ginn signed a marketing contract with Lebron’s LRMR Marketing worth $13 million for 5 years. Lebron and Ginn have been friends for years, which made signing that check a bit easier. Time to earn that contract, Teddy.

Going after Daunte Culpepper seemed like a good idea at the time. Before hurting his knee in 2005, he put up historic numbers in 2004 with the Vikings: 4717 yards, 69.2% completion, 110.9 QB rating and 39 TDs. He would have been the MVP that season if it wasn’t for Peyton’s record breaking 49 TDs and 121.1 QB rating. 2005 was a wash for Daunte, only playing in 7 games and throwing for 6 TDs and 12 INTs. So we scoop him up.

Enter 2006, a season to be forgotten. Daunte proceeds to play 4 games for us before being replaced by Joey Harrington. In those 4 games, Daunte throws for 2 TDs and 3 INTs, while racking up a 77.0 QB rating. He just wasn’t the same Daunte he was before his knee injury, even though team doctors said he was good to go. Ironically enough, doctors did not think Drew Brees would be able to overcome his shoulder injury and told Mueller to pass on him. Brees revitalized a Saints team and put up ridiculous numbers: 4418 yards, 26 TDs and a 96.2 QB rating.

We release Daunte this season, feeling pretty comfortable with Trent Green and 2nd round pick John Beck in the bullpen. Trent has thrown for 5 TDs, 7 INTs with a 72.9 QB rating so far this season. Last week Daunte started for the Raiders and beat us in Miami, throwing for 2 TDs and running in 3 more. Yep, he had 5 TDs last game, which is what Trent has produced all season long in 4 games. Talk about sweet revenge.

But I digress…

Back to Nick Saban. On ESPN.com today, Bill Simmons has the Fins nestled in cozily at #31 in this week’s NFL Power Rankings. This is what Bill had to say:

dolphins.jpg

Jason Taylor, last year’s NFL Defensive Player of the Year and Saban fan, once said, “Yeah, his decision was selfishly based, but at the end of the day, isn’t everybody going to take the best job that’s available? ” In a day and age where there is literally no loyalty to your employer, I can’t blame Saban for retreating for greener pastures… to the tune of $32 million over 4 years, making him the highest paid college football coach.

saban-money-bags.jpg 13saban.jpg

I can’t pinpoint Saban for all the issues with the Dolphins over the past 3 years, but I can definitely shit on him for his lack of character, integrity and honesty.

Let’s take a look at the sequence of events that took place at the end of last season.

Nov. 27:
Saban: “When I was in college it was always about coming to the pros. This is the challenge I wanted. I had a good college job. Why would I have left that if I was going to be interested in other college jobs?

“I took this as a challenge. We certainly haven’t seen this through and gotten where we want to go and finished the job here, so why would I be interested in something else?”

Dec. 5:
Dolphins owner Wayne Huizenga (after giving Saban a vote of confidence): “I am completely sold on Nick Saban. I would admit we made a mistake if we did make a mistake, but I firmly believe in Nick Saban.”

Dec. 7:
Saban: “I’m flattered that they may have been interested in me, but it never really progressed, because we just never let it progress.”

Dec. 21:
Saban: “I guess I have to say it. I’m not going to be the Alabama coach. … I don’t control what people say. I don’t control what people put on dot-com or anything else. So I’m just telling you there’s no significance, in my opinion, about this, about me, about any interest that I have in anything other than being the coach here.”

Dec. 27:
Saban: “I’m just making a rule to never comment on something like that again because every time you comment on it, it just makes for another story. So I’m not going to comment on it five years from now, and I’m not going to comment on it next week.”

Jan. 4:
Saban: “What I realized in the last two years is that we love college coaching because of the ability that it gives you to affect people, young people. … If I knew that my heart was someplace else in what I wanted to do, I don’t think it would be fair to the [Dolphins] organization if I stayed.”

owned9yh.gif

I can only hope that Alabama never comes out of the SEC alive… either at the hands of Saban’s old team, the #1 ranked LSU Tigers or the Florida Gators. As for the Dolphins, we need a lot of work. I believe Cam Cameron has the potential to be a good head coach. I can’t say with a straight face that I like the direction of the team right now, but I know that good things come to those who wait. Right Red Sox fans?

Leave a Reply

